About us

Dr Pete Gladwell BSc, PhD, MCSP, SRP

photo of pete gladwell Pete is a Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist in the Pain Management Service and the Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/ME Service at the North Bristol NHS Trust.

Pete’s clinical roles have included Pain Management Programmes, a Secondary Prevention Low Back Pain Programme, pain management/rehabilitation work with individuals, and assessment, individual and group treatment in the Bristol Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/ME Service. Pete had a role in a research programme investigating group CBT for people with Chronic Fatigue Syndrome/ME, and was involved clinically with the Back to Work research project. He has a longstanding and ongoing involvement with the Physiotherapy Pain Association, a Clinical Interest Group of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapy. He has collaborated extensively with the national ME/CFS charity Action for ME, and has co-authored a report on the Action for ME 2010 rehabilitation survey which was published in the peer-reviewed journal Disability and Rehabilitation in 2013. He completed a PhD in 2013, investigating the use of TENS devices by people with chronic musculoskeletal pain. This work has been published in two papers in the peer reviewed journal, Physical Therapy, a further paper published in Physiotherapy and he has co-authored a chapter based on this research for the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine. He has provided postgraduate education for physiotherapists since 2001, teaching biopsychosocial assessment and the Cognitive Behavioural Approach to managing pain.

Emma Bartlett, BSc, MSc, MCSP, SRP

photo of emma bartlettEmma has worked in interdisciplinary pain management since 2003. She is currently the Clinical Specialist Physiotherapist in the Portsmouth and Southeast Hampshire Persistent Pain Team where she works with people with chronic pain both on an individual basis and through Pain/ Self Management Programmes. She has experience of working in a medically led Pain Service at Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust and previously worked within Derbyshire’s Condition Management Programme (CMP). The CMP was a key element of the Department of Work and Pensions initiative ‘Pathways to Work’ which aimed to help those with long term conditions return to employment. She continues to have a keen interest in helping those with long term conditions return to work. Emma’s clinical approach is guided by the biopsychosocial model with an emphasis on long term self management, facilitating people to make change for improved function and quality of life.

Emma has provided both under and postgraduate education on pain management approaches to healthcare professionals since 2007.

Heather Muncey BA, Dip. Grad. Phys., MCSP, SRP

photo of heather munceyHeather has worked in interdisciplinary pain management since 1989. She is experienced in delivering pain management programmes, secondary prevention of pain-associated incapacity for acute recurrent pain, work retention for low back pain and return to work programmes either with individuals or groups. She was responsible for introducing use of the bio-psycho-social model in the Musculoskeletal Out Patient Service at the Frenchay Healthcare NHS Trust in Bristol whilst she was Lead Physiotherapist for this service. Heather retired in January 2011 from her role as Principle Lead Physiotherapist in the Pain Management Service at the North Bristol NHS Trust.

Heather was the founder of The Physiotherapy Pain Association in 1994 and the first elected Physiotherapist Council member of The British Pain Society (BPS); the British Chapter of the International Association for the Study of Pain. She was the Physiotherapist Advisor to the United Kingdom Clinical Standards Advisory Group Report on Pain, 2000. She was the Physiotherapy clinical supervisor for two of the four centres in the U.K. Back to Work Studies in 2000 and 2004. She has presented extensively at national and international scientific meetings and has published on her area of expertise in specialist texts. Heather was awarded Honorary Membership of the BPS in 2010 for her personal contribution to the management of pain and her work for the Society, and was awarded a Fellowship of the Chartered Society of Physiotherapists in 2012.